Academic Leadership & Faculty

Dr. David Gardner, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, joined the Maine Maritime Academy staff in June of 2014.

Susan Loomis is Professor of Humanities & Communication and Dean of Faculty.

Professors at Maine Maritime Academy work with students in classrooms, laboratories, and aboard ships. Our full-time faculty of more than 60 men and women stress the connections between theory and real-world applications. Faculty come from diverse academic backgrounds, and from industrial positions in engineering, ship operations, marine science, maritime management, and small vessel design and operation. Faculty members serve as academic advisors and also participate in research, consulting, and other academic pursuits. Part-time faculty include visiting professors from industry and from domestic and foreign universities.

Faculty by Academic Departments – Spring 2017

* – Denotes Department Chair
(s) –  Denotes Sabbatical

Loeb-Sullivan School of International Business & Logistics

Columber, Eric
Jain, Navneet 
Langford, Kirk
Lorenz, Patrick
Maier, Don*
Perry, Jamie
Roberts, Robin
Schatz, George
Scheuchzer, Alaina
Shaughnessy, Mark


Christensen, Capt Sean
Clark, LT Eric
Cooper, CAPT Timothy*
Coxson, CDR Brian
Isaacs, LT Fielding

Physical Ed. Courses:

Biggie, Therese
DelGiudice, Christopher
O’Neal, Gillian
Schroder, Tim

Dean’s Office

Gardner, David*
Leeman, Cindra

Registrar/STCW Office

Gutow, AmyNason-Moulton, Laura
Oxendine, Candida
Stephens, Christina*

Faculty Office

Dyer, Nicole