Student Life
Awards Banquet
April 23, 2020

19th Annual Student Life Awards

There are 10 Student Life Award Categories that recognize a variety of student leaders of the MMA student body, one category that recognizes an organization, event or activity and one student nominated award that recognizes a faculty or staff member.  The Student Life Awards Committee has reviewed all nominations and selected the top five nominees in each award category. One overall awardee from each category will be announced as the award winner at the banquet.

Schedule and Information (event begins at 7:00pm ET)


Presenters | Deidra Davis and President Brennan

picture from 2019 SLAB

Gathering Thoughts

Presenter | Tricia Carver

Womens Volleyball hudle

Athletic Integration Award

Awarded to a student-athlete (intramural, club, or varsity) who has impacted campus life through leadership and collaboration with others.

PresenterSteve Peed
NomineesEmily Conway
Eryn Doiron
John Friend
Nathan Granholm – WINNER
Maggie MacMahon

Emerging Leader Awards

Awarded to two students who have emerged as leaders and who can be expected to contribute significantly to the campus community and the welfare of their fellow students during their time at the Academy.

PresenterJeff Taub
NomineesRachel Borisko
Griffin DesMarteau
Sarah Gilmore – WINNER
John Hall – WINNER
John Watt

Non-Trad Student Impact

Awarded to a non-traditional student who has used their life experiences to make a significant impact in the campus community, while promoting and demonstrating excellence in aspects of their college experience

PresenterAnne Kowalski
NomineesFinn Becker
Joshua Blaine – WINNER
Brian Graff
Jeffrey Huhn
Nickolaus Lewis

Outstanding Collaboration

Awarded to a student who has collaborated with multiple constituencies. This student has led with integrity to unify the student body and make significant contributions to the greater campus community.

PresenterLonnie Christian
NomineesKeith Jordan – WINNER
Olivia LeBlanc
Maggie MacMahon
Caiden Shea
Avae Traina

Outstanding Contribution to Res Life

Awarded to the student who has promoted community in the residence hall through respect, fairness, and inclusion.

PresenterJanice Folk
NomineesRachel Bunker – WINNER
Sarah Gilmore
Maxwell Mattson
Bryant Peterson
Nicholas Racioppi

Student Employee of the Year Award

Awarded to a student worker who has demonstrated a high quality of work, leadership skills and who has made a significant impact on the department or departments in which they work.

PresenterJanice Folk
NomineesGeorge Albert – WINNER
Rachel Bunker
Derek Chapman
Jakob Hemmerlein
Avery O’Neal

Student Government Association Leadership Award

Awarded to a student affiliated with the Student Government Association who has shown immense integrity and perseverance in striving to improve student life and welfare.

PresenterElizabeth True
NomineesElise Allen
Oliver Higgins – WINNER
Keith Jordan
Gloria Kelley
Jessica Lindsay

Mariner Pride Award

The Mariner Pride Award is a community-wide nomination that honors an organization, event, or activity that enhances Mariner Pride by bringing people together and helping to strengthen the campus community.

PresenterElizabeth True
NomineesMonomoy Team 2019
Ocean Studies Department
Sea Scouts Organization
Women’s Basketball Team
Women’s Volleyball Team – WINNER

Sarah F. Hudson Unsung Mariner Award

The Sarah F. Hudson Unsung Mariner award is presented to a faculty or staff member who demonstrates outstanding community service and support of student life.

PresenterSusan Loomis
NomineesChris Grindle – WINNER
Amy Gutow
Riana Sidelinger
Christine Spratt
Kyle Willette

Phyllis Tenney Community Service and Leadership

Awarded to the student who has displayed outstanding dedication and loyalty to MMA, commitment and service to the Castine community, exemplary leadership skills, and has also achieved great success academically and socially at MMA.

PresenterDeidra Davis / President Brennan
NomineesGeoffrey Knight – WINNER
Abigail L’Abbe
Mary Shea

Questions or requests about disability-related access or accommodations for public events should be directed in advance of the event to MMA’s Accessibility Services at 207-326-2489 or