Tuition and Fees
Tuition rates normally are established each February for the next academic year by the Board of Trustees. Students who graduate from MMA with a bachelor’s degree are eligible for the MMA Alumni Advantage tuition discount toward one of two Master of Science degrees offered at MMA. Click here for more additional information.
For the Fall semester of 2019, undergraduate tuition is as follows:
$8,075 New England Regional*
Click here for a complete cost of attendance worksheet.
Course Overload Fees:
$560/credit New England Regional*
*The Academy is a member of the New England Regional Student Program (NERSP), and, therefore, eligible students from New England states that do not have similar academic programs pay the Maine in-state tuition rate plus 50 percent. Residents of Puerto Rico also are eligible.
Under the NERSP, the following MMA majors are available to students from the states indicated:
- Marine Biology: CT, VT
- Marine Science: CT, MA, NH, VT
- Vessel Operations & Technology: CT, MA, NH, RI, VT
- Small Vessel Operations: CT, MA, NH, RI, VT
- Power Engineering Operations: CT, NH, RI, VT
- Power Engineering Technology: CT, NH, RI, VT
- International Business & Logistics: CT, NH, RI, VT
- Interdisciplinary Studies: CT, VT
- Marine Systems Engineering (Non-License Track): CT, NH, RI, VT
Students from Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Vermont, and Puerto Rico who enroll in one of the following four majors qualify for in-state tuition rates. These four majors lead to a U.S. Coast Guard unlimited license and require membership in the Regiment of Midshipmen. An Admissions Office representative can determine if a student qualifies for these majors. See the catalog section on Student Life for more information on the Regiment of Midshipmen and the section on Admissions for the requirements for applicants to the U.S. Coast Guard license program.
- Marine Transportation Operations
- Marine Systems Engineering (License Track)
- Marine Engineering Operations
- Marine Engineering Technology
Room and Board
Room fees are based on double occupancy. Single rooms may be requested through the Student Affairs Office. Requests will be granted only when double occupancy is not required by the Academy to satisfy housing demands. A student will not be charged the single room rate if the student has not applied for a single room and has followed proper procedures but is assigned a single room for the convenience of the Academy.
Students who qualify for off-campus living may cancel the reservation for a room in Curtis Hall by making written application to the Associate Director of Student Services no later than two weeks after the beginning of each semester. Those students who cancel the reservation will be billed a $200, $400, or $600 fee and/or charged on a pro-rated basis.
The Academy reserves the option to place three students in a room in Curtis Hall during the fall and spring semesters. Students will receive an adjustment in room rates at the end of the semester based upon the amount of time that triple occupancy occurred.
All resident students who pay a room fee are required to participate in a board plan. Board fees are billed each semester. Three meal plan options are available. There is a fourth plan that is available for commuter students only. The dining room is open to all resident students during meal hours on an unlimited basis.
In those cases where a medical professional recommends a special diet for a student, an individualized dietary accommodation plan may be appropriate; for more information contact the Accessibility Services office.
Non-resident students may gain access to the dining room by paying an individual meal charge at the door or may purchase a meal card using the “point” system.
Room and board charges (as of the Fall semester 2019) for students living on campus are as follows:
- $5,258 All on-campus students with a meal plan.
(Optional) Board Plan for commuter students only:
Fees for Academic Year 2019-2020:
The following annual fees are required of all students:
|Application Fee: (charged only once, unless reapplying)||$50|
|Student Life Fee:||$230|
|Medical Services Fee:||$134|
The following fees may be required annually, or at specific course registration time:
|Unlimited License Program Participation||$7,500|
|Cruise Participation, T.S. State of Maine (eligible, non-license track students)||$7,500|
|Cruise Participation, VOT||$1,800|
|Late Registration Fee||$100|
|VOT/SVO Majors Fee||$1,074|
|Marine Biology and Marine Science Majors Fee||$952|
|Co-op Educational Experience||$1,074|
|Leadership Development Program Fee||$400|
*All matriculating undergraduate and graduate students are required to be enrolled in a medical insurance plan. Each student must provide proof of insurance and/or participate in the Academy-sponsored medical insurance plan. A brochure outlining the various benefits of this plan is mailed to all matriculating students with the fall term bill in July. Students should note that the rejection deadline is August 15 in order to have the charge removed from the bill. Students and/or their families are responsible for notifying Health Services of any changes. These processes are all done through the portal.
In addition to the fees listed above, the Academy charges certain fees relating to students’ specific courses. A complete schedule of fees is available in Room 212, Leavitt Hall. Current examples include the following:
|Bridge Simulator Lab Fee (per credit hour)||$180|
|Tug/Barge Operations Course Fee||$1,565|
|Small Arms Course Fee||$1,050|
|Physics and Chemistry Courses Lab Fee||$330|
|Welding and Machine Tool Ops. Courses Lab Fee||$385|
|Skin & Scuba Diving Course Fee||$330|
|NS499 License Prep Course Fee||$165|
U.S. Coast Guard User Fees
Students pursuing a U.S. Coast Guard license are advised that the Coast Guard charges user fees for life boat exams, license application evaluations, and documents (i.e., license and Merchant Mariner’s documents). These fees are not included in the aforementioned tuition and fees requirements and are paid directly to the Coast Guard as required.
TWIC Card Fee
TWIC (Transportation Workers Identification Credential) cards are required of all students in the unlimited license program to participate in training cruises and cadet shipping, and for some other students for some cooperative assignments. Arrangements for obtaining a TWIC card are made through the Registrar’s Office early in the fall of the freshman year. Individuals wishing to obtain their TWIC card on campus will need to pay a processing fee of $35.25 to the Maine Maritime Academy, Cashier’s Office or the charge may be placed on their student account.
Summary of Additional Requirements and Fees Students May Encounter
|U.S. Passport fee by mail (renewing or replacing only)||$110|
|U.S. Passport fee in person (required for first time applicants)||$135|
|U.S. Passport Photos||$15-$20|
|Merchant Mariner Credential
USCG License Issuance Fee