Maine Maritime Academy Coronavirus Information & Updates

Maine Maritime Academy is closely monitoring the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic and working proactively to minimize any risk to our community.

FAQ – Frequently Asked Questions | Updated March 31, 2020


3/26/20 | Messages from Dr. Elizabeth True and Prof. Mark Coté

Health

The most up-to-date and relevant health resources can be found on the CDC website. Please refer to their site when seeking COVID-19 information and revisit often for updates.

MMA community members are encouraged to follow these CDC guidelines regarding general hygiene and good health:

  • Avoid close contact with people who are sick.
  • Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands.
  • Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. Use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol if soap and water are not available.

Watch for symptoms:

  • Fever
  • Cough
  • Difficulty breathing
  • Sore throat (in some patients)

If you are sick, to keep from spreading respiratory illness to others, you should:

  • Stay home when you are sick.
  • Cover your cough or sneeze with a tissue, then throw the tissue in the trash.
  • Clean and disinfect frequently touched objects and surfaces

If you have traveled out of state recently or have been exposed to someone diagnosed with the COVID-19 virus and get sick with fever (100.4 F or higher) or cough, or have trouble breathing:

  • Seek medical care. Call ahead before visiting the Health Center (326-2305), your doctor’s office, or an emergency room. Medical staff will ask you questions and properly prepare for your arrival.
  • Tell your health care provider about your recent travel and your symptoms.
  • Avoid contact with others.

MMA Updates

  • For information and updates from the Academy, please monitor this page. Information will also be shared on MMA’s FacebookTwitter, and mobile app.
  • To read the latest information about Maine’s CDC COVID-19 response, please visit the Maine CDC
  • To read the latest information about the CDC’s national COVID-19 response, please visit the CDC website.
  • For information on State legislation in response to COVID-19, or state-wide closings, visit maine.gov.
  • For information on Federal response and legislation regarding COVID-19, please visit usa.gov.

Travel

The CDC includes information for U.S. travel and other information, including an FAQ on their website.

  • Emergency: contact Campus Safety at 207-326-2479
  • Questions about Academy updates:
    • Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management, Elizabeth True at elizabeth.true@mma.edu, 207-326-2620 (for students and parents)
    • Director of Human Resources, Carrie Margrave at carrie.margrave@mma.edu, 207-326-2665 (for employees)
    • Provost, Mark Coté, at mark.cote@mma.edu, 207-326-2485 (for faculty and academic questions).
    • Contact Campus Safety at 207-326-2479 in an emergency.
  • MMA students and parents:
    • For general concerns, contact Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management, Elizabeth True, at elizabeth.true@mma.edu, 207-326-2620
    • For student-specific concerns, contact Dean of Student Services, Deidra Davis at deidra.davis@mma.edu, 207-326-2138
    • For residential students in the Curtis Hall or Commons with housing questions, contact Director of Residential Life and Student Activities, Janice Folk, at janice.folk@mma.edu, 207-326-2280
    • For students making the decision to not come to campus or to record a period of self-isolation, contact Executive Assistant, Academic Dean, Cindra Leeman at cindra.leeman@mma.edu, 207-326-2485
    • For students missing classes, contact each of your instructors to stay current with your coursework
  • MMA employees: contact Director of Human Resources, Carrie Margrave, at carrie.margrave@mma.edu, 207-326-2665
  • MMA Faculty and those with Academic Questions, contact Acting Provost, Mark Coté, at mark.cote@mma.edu, 207-326-2485
  • MMA Health Services:
    • For health questions, contact Director Tammy Tyler at tammy.tyler@mma.edu, 207-326-2295
    • For counseling information, contact Counselor, Paul Ferreira at paul.ferreira@mma.edu,
      207-326-2419
    • For community health, contact Castine Community Health Services at 207-326-4348
  • Athletics and athletic facilities questions, contact Steve Peed, Director, at steve.peed@mma.edu, 207-326-2541
  • For Regiment of Midshipmen questions, contact the Commandant’s Office at commandantsdivision@mma.edu, 207-326-2250