Maine Maritime Academy Student Life Awards Recognize Outstanding Leaders and Community Members at 19th Annual Event

Posted on: May 11, 2020

CASTINE, Maine—At a virtual online event held on Thursday, April 23, the Maine Maritime Academy Student Life Awards Committee recognized outstanding members of the MMA and Castine community whose contributions include various service projects, athletics, employment and volunteer programs, and other co-curricular activities.

For the 19th annual awards ceremony, the Student Life Awards Committee, made up of staff and faculty, accepted nominations from the entire MMA community and selected the top five nominees in each category. Top nominees were recognized during the ceremony before the awardee from each category was announced as the winner.

The following awards, nominees, and award winners were announced at the ceremony:

  • The Athletic Integration Award recognizes the positive contributions intramural, club or varsity athletes make to the campus community. It is awarded to a student athlete who has impacted campus life through leadership and collaboration with others. Winner: Nathan Granholm of Brunswick, Maine. Additional nominees: Emily Conway, Eryn Doiron, John Friend, and Maggie MacMahon.
  • The Emerging Leader Award recognizes two first-year students who have emerged as leaders and who can be expected to contribute significantly to the campus community and the welfare of their fellow students during their time at the Academy. Winners (2): Sarah Gilmore of Bangor, Maine and John Hall of Lee, New Hampshire. Additional nominees: Rachel Borisko, Griffin DesMarteau, and John Watt.
  • The Non-Traditional Student Impact Award is presented to a non-traditional student who has used their life experiences to make a significant impact in the campus community including, but not limited to, campus life, academic achievement, leadership, and community service. Winner: Joshua Blaine of Bangor, Maine. Additional nominees: Finn Becker, Brian Graff, Jeffrey Huhn, Nickolaus Lewis.
  • Outstanding Collaboration Award recognizes a member of the student body who has collaborated with multiple constituencies. This student has led with integrity to unify the student body and make significant contributions to the greater campus community. Winner: Keith Jordan of Waltham, Maine. Additional nominees: Olivia LeBlanc, Maggie MacMahon, Caiden Shea, Avae Traina.
  • The Award for Outstanding Contribution to Residential Life is presented to a student who has made significant contributions to the community and experience of students living in the residence halls. Winner: Rachel Bunker of Ellsworth, Maine. Additional nominees: Sarah Gilmore, Maxwell Mattson, Bryant Peterson, Nicholas Racioppi.
  • Student Employee of the Year Award recognizes a student worker who has demonstrated a high quality of work, leadership skills, and impact on the department in which he or she works. Winner: George Albert of Powhatan, Virginia. Additional nominees: Rachel Bunker, Derek Chapman, Jakob Hemmerlein, Avery O’Neal.
  • Student Government Association Leadership Award recognizes a student affiliated with the Student Government Association who has shown immense integrity and perseverance in striving to improve student life and Winner: Oliver Higgins of Bangor, Maine. Additional nominees: Elise Allen, Keith Jordan, Gloria Kelley, Jessica Lindsay.
  • Mariner Pride is a community-wide nomination that honors an organization, event, or activity that enhances Mariner Pride by bringing people together and helping to strengthen the campus community. Winner: Women’s Volleyball Team. Additional nominees: Monomoy Team 2019, Ocean Studies Department, Sea Scouts Organization, Women’s Basketball Team.
  • The Sarah F. Hudson Unsung Mariner award is a student-nominated award given to a faculty or staff member for demonstrating outstanding community service and support of student life. Winner: Chris Grindle of Bucksport, Maine. Additional nominees: Amy Gutow, Riana Sidelinger, Christine Spratt, Kyle Willette.
  • Phyllis Tenney Community Service and Leadership Award is presented to the student who has displayed outstanding dedication and loyalty to MMA, commitment and service to the Castine community, exemplary leadership skills, and has also achieved great success academically and socially at MMA. Winner: Geoffrey Knight of Bangor, Maine. Additional nominees: Abigail L’Abbe and Mary Shea.

The recorded event video can be viewed on the Student Life Awards Banquet page.

Maine Maritime Academy is a co-educational, public college on the coast of Maine offering programs of study in engineering, management, science, and transportation. The college serves approximately 950 undergraduate and graduate students in career-oriented degree programs. The job placement rate for MMA graduates is approximately 90 percent within 90 days of graduation. The college is consistently recognized for providing a high-value education by organizations such as the Brookings Institution, U.S. News and World Report, and Money Magazine.