Maine Maritime Academy Trustees Hold Annual Meeting, Elect Officers

Posted on: August 18, 2016

CASTINE, Maine — The Maine Maritime Academy Board of Trustees held their annual meeting on Friday, August 12, 2016 at 8:30 a.m. on the campus in Castine.

The principal action item for the Board was to elect officers, which were offered via resolution by the Governance Committee. The following roster of officers was nominated and voted unanimously to serve for a one-year term: Robert Somerville as Chair; Earle Cianchette as Vice Chair; Dugan Shipway as Treasurer; and Rhonda Varney as Secretary.

Robert Somerville is a 1965 graduate of Maine Maritime Academy and comes into the position having served the Board of Trustees as Vice Chair for five years. Earle Cianchette is a 1977 MMA graduate and has served as a standing member of the Board of Trustees since 2011. Dugan Shipway continues as Treasurer, having served in the position since 2010; and Rhonda Varney continues in the position of Secretary, having served in the position since 2014.

Captain Robert J. Peacock, II, of Eastport, Maine, completed his term as Chair, but will continue to serve as a trustee.

Standing Committees of the Board of Trustees met throughout the day on Thursday, August 11, 2016, to discuss Committee business and reports.

The next MMA Board of Trustees meeting will be held on Friday, November 11, 2016 at 8:30 a.m.