Maine Maritime Academy sweeps Inaugural Inter-Academy Monomoy Challenge

Posted on: September 13, 2018

THROGGS NECK, New York—Maine Maritime Academy (MMA) sent two monomoy (rescue row boat) teams to SUNY Maritime Academy in Throggs Neck, New York on September 8, 2018 to compete in the George C. Previll Memorial Inaugural Inter-Academy Monomoy Challenge. Winning both parts of the challenge, Maine Maritime Academy brought in $4,000 in scholarship money; a $2,500 first place prize for the monomoy race, and $1,500 first place prize in the seamanship skills portion of the challenge.

The challenge consisted of two parts. In one, lifeboat teams raced on a 1/3 mile slalom and sprint course in head-to-head heats. Maine Maritime Academy, with a very strong showing, won the races, beating SUNY Maritime College in the finals. In the second challenge, general seamanship was tested with tasks such as a knot-tying relay, heaving line-toss for distance, and a timed lifeboat rescue. Again, Maine Maritime Academy, under pressure, handily won this second challenge to sweep the weekend.

The race was presented by The Marine Society of the City of New York, whose partner sponsors included Portland Marine Society (Portland, Maine), and the Boston Marine Society.

Competing teams included the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy of Kings Point, NY; U.S. Coast Guard Academy of New London, CT; SUNY Maritime Academy of Throggs Neck, NY; Massachusetts Maritime Academy of Buzzards Bay; and Maine Maritime Academy of Castine.

Each boat team consisted of 10 participants: 1 flag bearer, 8 rowers, and a coxswain. Maine Maritime Academy’s boat teams and support personnel were as follows:

Boat 1: James Salerno, Stuart, Florida, Flag Bearer; Owen Smith, Gorham, Maine, Rower; Nicholas Leong, Peaks Island, Maine, Rower; Hannah Chase, Warren, Maine, Rower; Kailyn Russell, Bar Harbor, Maine, Rower; Jeb Monigle, Lewes, Delaware, Rower; Kyle Monigle, Lewes, Delaware, Rower; Timothy Wedge, Trenton, Maine, Rower; Adam Norwood, Blue Hill, Maine, Rower, and George Stamatopoulous, Arlington, Virginia, Coxwain.

Boat 2: Evan McIntire, Shamong, New Jersey, Flag Bearer; Tynan O’Brien, Lancaster, Pennsylvania, Rower; Jeremy Serbst, Bristol, Rhode Island, Rower; Patrick Whittman, Lewes, Delaware, Rower; Aaron Hazlerig, Biddeford, Maine, Rower; Dylan Shea, Kennebunk, Maine, Rower; Alexander Snowman, Sarasota, Florida, Rower; Connor Roy, Hampden, Maine, Rower; Christopher Brown, Huntsville, Alabama, Rower; and Ethan Belesca, Chebeague Island, Maine, Coxwain.

Support personnel were: Nicholas Forsythe, Hawthorne, New Jersey; Samuel Battock-Emerson, Kittery, Maine; Mohammed Hasan, Saco, Maine; Henry Adams, Providence, Rhode Island; Augustus Frankwizc, Cape Elizabeth, Maine; Owen Clough, Hillsborough, New Jersey; Christian Shepherd, Franklin, New Hampshire; Vijay Pal-Singh, Hastings-on-Hudson, New York; Parker Brownrigg, Lewiston, Maine; Bryon Fogg, Winslow, Maine; Anthony Franchetti, Wilton, Maine; Gretel Williams, Bristol, Maine; and Jeff Wright, MMA Director of Alumni Relations. Class Officers Lt. Lonnie Christian and Lt. Kyle Willette co-coached the team.