Maine Maritime Academy Community Celebrates Student Civic Achievement at Annual Student Life Awards Banquet

Posted on: April 16, 2015

CASTINE, Maine—Students at Maine Maritime Academy (MMA) are encouraged to complete community service hours as part of their education. The Academy’s annual Student Life Awards Banquet, held on Wednesday, April 8, 2015, recognized students who have contributed time, knowledge and skills to help better the college and surrounding community.

The Student Life Participation and Leadership Awards Committee, made up of MMA staff and faculty, recognized community members with awards for student community service, and with the Sarah F. Hudson Unsung Mariner Award, the Mariner Pride Award, and the Phyllis Tenney Community Service and Leadership Award.

Level-one awards acknowledge positive community contribution. The recognized students in this category have made positive contributions to the MMA and/or Castine communities through personal involvement in extra-curricular activities, employment positions, volunteer programs, community service projects, or leadership positions, typically over one year or less.

The following students were recognized as level-one award recipients: Arik Akerberg,  Sarah Anderson-McLean, Madeline Armstrong, Elizabeth Bailey, Michael Bataran, Anthony Boucher, Is Doiron, Erin Donlon, Ryan Donlon, Kate Doughty, Dylan Drinkwater, Robert Euiler, Kyle Fallon, Caroline Foy, Taylor Grace, Cody Gray, Myron Hahn, Jared Hall, David Harrison, Katelyn Hart, Zachary Hartley, Cory Jernigan, Adam Kravetz, Cassandra Lopez,  Jacques Lussier, Edison Ma, Cody MacCabe, Alexandria Martin, Caroline Martin, Micah McBrine, Cory McCoy, Andrew McGonagle, Sarah Meyer, Tyler Nemsdale, Luke Olson, R. Dylan Pearce, Liam Pitchford, Hollister Poole, John Pooler, Andrew Rogers, Jake Sigouin, Mitch Stewart, Gabrielle Wells, Thomas White, and Caroline Yates.

Level-two awards represent outstanding community impact by Academy students. Those honored at this level are outstanding citizens who have made a broad or significant impact on the MMA and/or Castine communities through dedicated personal contributions in extra-curricular activities, employment positions, volunteer programs, community service projects, or leadership positions.

The following students were recognized as level-two award recipients: John Amendola, Catherine Bailey, Sam Berner, Kurt Borkman,  Sam Brown, Richard Brzoska, Sarah Burgess, Glenn Burleigh, Rebeckah Campbell, Evan Carrier, Christopher Carter, Hannah Chisholm, Christopher Cloukey, Jordan Dehlinger, Brian Dockham, Nathan Dublin, Patrick Duffy-Miller, Haley Eckert, Cameron Eisenhaur, Tyler Engelhardt, Matthew Fendl, Kyle Fredricks, David Gagne, Alexander Gagnon, Evan Gaskin, Lawrence Gay, Nicholas George, Christopher Gilman, Dania Gomez-Villa, James Colin Goodson, Joshua Hale, Andrew Harrison, Kelsie Hilton, Haley Hunt Griffin, Rachel Jondle, Kristina Kelley, Rebecca Leathers, Wyatt LePage, Kregg MacPherson, Molly Marcotte, Kyle Marshall, Marissa McNally, Dylan Meklin, Jessica Menges, Daniel Mills, Alison Mitchell, Alexander Morrison, Sean O’Connor, Taylor O’Malley, Troy Osborne, Hannah Page, Jordan Peeples, Jillian Perron, Juergen Pilot, Elizabeth Pingree, Matt Plocinski, Christopher Randazzo, Andrew Richardson, Derek Roberts, Nathan Rooney, Charles Salerno, Patrick Saunders, Allison Sawyer, Anthony Scenna, William Silver, Victor Skorapa, Tyler Smith, Jonathan Steirer, Ben Stevens, Ethan Stubbs, Andrew Tarte, Connor Thomas, Joseph Torchia, Cortney Treadwell, Elizabeth Trenckmann, Jacob Weymouth, Cristin Wright, and Nate Zmek.

The Mariner Pride Award is a community-wide nomination that honors an organization, event, or activity that enhances Mariner Pride by bringing people together and helping to strengthen the campus community.

This year’s Mariner Pride Award was presented to Kurt Borkman, who accepted the award on behalf of the MMA Boxing Match team of organizers. This year’s Boxing Match brought several hundred students together, and was one of the most talked-about and most desired student-driven events ever held.  The efforts that went into the planning, preparation, and participation for the event were truly impressive, and the team executed a one-of-a-kind experience.

The Sarah F. Hudson Unsung Mariner is a student-nominated award that is given to a faculty or staff member for demonstrating outstanding community service and support of student life.

This year’s Unsung Mariner award recipient was Public Services Librarian, Lauren Blanchard. Dr. Elizabeth True, Vice President for Enrollment Management, presented the award and offered these remarks, “Lauren has been an integral part of a strong team to make big changes possible in the Library.  She is approachable, polite and always cheerful; she has a kind spirit, and is consistently dedicated to her job and to the MMA community. It is due to her strong work ethic and always going above and beyond her job duties for our students that she was selected as the 2015 Sarah Hudson Unsung Mariner.”

The Phyllis Tenney Community Service and Leadership Award is presented to a student who has displayed outstanding dedication and loyalty to MMA, commitment and service to the Castine community, exemplary leadership skills, and has achieved great success academically and socially at MMA.

The 2015 Phyllis Tenney Community Service and Leadership Award recipient was Jillian Perron. Ms. Perron has worked diligently to serve Maine Maritime Academy, and its surrounding community since her arrival four years ago. She has done so through hard work, leadership, strong character, and humility.  Jillian fills nearly every free moment of her day volunteering her time within the community, excelling academically, competing on the hard wood, and working on campus.