MMA Student Life Awards Recognize Outstanding Leaders and Community Members at 15th Annual Banquet

Posted on: April 14, 2017

CASTINE, Maine—At a banquet held on Thursday, April 5, the Maine Maritime Academy Student Life Awards Committee recognized outstanding members of the MMA and Castine community whose contributions include various service projects, athletics, employment and volunteer programs, and other co-curricular activities.

For the 15th annual banquet and awards ceremony, the Student Life Awards Committee, made up of MMA staff and faculty, accepted nominations from the entire MMA community and selected the top five nominees in each category. These top nominees were recognized during the ceremony before the one overall awardee from each category was announced as the winner.

The following awards and award winners were announced at the ceremony:

• Award for Athletic Leadership is awarded to a student athlete who has contributed to both campus life and demonstrated leadership within their club or varsity sport. Winner: Morgan Maxwell of Windham, Maine. Additional nominees: Alexandra Allen, Cody O’Brien, Gillian O’Neal, and Victor Skorapa.

• Award for Outstanding Contribution to Residential Life is presented to a student who has made significant contributions to the community and experience of students living in residence halls. Winner: Christopher Moore of Anchorage, Alaska. Additional nominees: Charleen Heidkamp, Chase Davidson, Haley Turnbull, Olivia Hupper.

• Emerging Leader Award recognizes two first-year students who have emerged as leaders and who can be expected to contribute significantly to the campus community and the welfare of their fellow students during their time at the Academy. Winners (2): Eryn Doiron of Wilton, Maine and Ashley Elder of Windham, Maine. Additional nominees: Abigail Cooper, Abby L’Abbe, Joshua Reed.

• Outstanding Regimental Collaboration Award recognizes the positive contributions the Regiment of Midshipmen makes to the campus community. It is awarded to an individual member of the student body who has led with integrity while collaborating with the Regiment of Midshipmen to make significant contributions to the greater campus community. Winner: David Harrison of Thomaston, Maine. Additional nominees: Ryan Donlon.

• Non-Traditional Student Impact Award is presented to a non-traditional student who has used their life experiences to make a significant impact in the campus community including, but not limited to, campus life, academic achievement, leadership, and community service. Winner: Jennifer Wright of Castine, Maine. Additional nominees: Lance Bishop, Leah Libby, Edison Ma, David Silver.

• Social Entrepreneurship Award recognizes a student, or group of students, who have pursued an idea with the potential to enhance community or to address a pervasive community issue. Winner: College Republicans, represented by Thomas White of China, Maine. Additional nominees: Alpha Phi Omega, Woodsman Club.

• Student Employee of the Year Award recognizes a work-study student or student worker who has demonstrated a high quality of work, leadership skills, and impact on the department. Winner: Cristin Wright of Ellsworth, Maine. Additional nominees: Arik Akerberg, Brady Macleod, Fritz Marseille, Michael Libby.

• Student Government Leadership Award recognizes a student affiliated with the Student Government Association who has shown immense integrity and perseverance in striving to improve student life and welfare. Winner: Rylee Knox of Turner, Maine. Additional nominees: Anastasia Wright, Mary Shea, Olivia Burke, Truman Slocum.

• Mariner Pride is a community-wide nomination that honors an organization, event, or activity that enhances Mariner Pride by bringing people together and helping to strengthen the campus community. Winner: 44th Annual Admiral’s Cup-Football, represented by coach Chris McKenney, Robert Bradley of Prospect, Maine, Cody Chapman of Bangor, Maine, and Joshua Doolan of Bangor, Maine. Additional nominees: 2016 Election events, 75th Anniversary Committee, Relay 4 Life, Volleyball.

• The Sarah F. Hudson Unsung Mariner award is a student-nominated award given to a faculty or staff member for demonstrating outstanding community service and support of student life. Winner: Professor Barbara Fleck. Additional nominees: Joceline Boucher, Safety Department, Kirk Langford.

• Phyllis Tenney Community Service and Leadership Award is presented to the student who has displayed outstanding dedication and loyalty to MMA, commitment and service to the Castine community, exemplary leadership skills, and has also achieved great success academically and socially at MMA. Winner: Gillian O’Neal from Burbank, California. Additional nominees: Arik Akerberg, Brendan Newcomb.

Maine Maritime Academy is a co-educational, public college on the coast of Maine offering 22 programs of study in engineering, management, science, and transportation. The college serves approximately 950 undergraduate and graduate students in career-oriented degree programs. Year over year, the job placement rate for MMA graduates exceeds 90 percent within 90 days of graduation. The college is consistently recognized for providing a high-value education by organizations such as the Brookings Institution, U.S. News and World Report, and Money Magazine, which ranked MMA the number-one Best Public College in America in 2014 and 2015. For more information, visit